Do you stack or separate?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by WhatDoIKnow, Sep 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WhatDoIKnow

WhatDoIKnow I never got over it, I got used to it Thread Starter

Hi everyone and thank you in advance for your replies. Please bear in mind that I am new to the game, until last year my "stereo room" was my car, which I use a lot for work, so my ignorance about all things HI-FI goes a long, long way.

A few months ago I bought what I would not hesitate to call the audio equipment of my dreams.
    Amplifier and SACD player sit side-by-side on a lovely, lacquered piece of furniture which I inherited a few years ago so a stereo rack is, for the time being anyway, out of the question.
    A couple of weeks ago I added a turntable to the equation, and the turntable is big! 502 x 153 x 362 mm, to be precise, and the dust cover, once opened, adds to the depth.

Since the piece of furniture in question isn't large enough for me to sit all three elements on it, I started thinking about a wall mount or shelf for the turntable - and before you ask, no problems with footfalls or any such like - the floor is tiles and the wall is a perimetral wall, so no vibrations to speak of.
    Now, apart from the fact that possibly only the Hi Fi Racks Podium Platform can accommodate my turntable, my wife intervened and suggested we put the tube amplifier (a Cayin CS-55A, weighing 17kg) on top of the SACD player (a Pioneer PD-70AE), which is built like a tank and weighs 19kg but still...

What would you do? Buy the wall mount for the turntable and keep amplifier and SACD player sitting side by side on the lacquered chest of drawers, or have the amplifier sit on top of the SACD player and the turntable by their side?

I would like to attach pictures but I don't know how; I'll check how to do it and if needed I will post them.

Thank you for now!

2. Swann36

Swann36 A widower finding solace in music