I want to love vinyl, but...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Noel Patterson, Sep 2, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oelewapper

Oelewapper Plays vinyl instead of installing it on the floor.

Physical media is an investment.
    To make a somewhat fair comparison to a music service, you need to substract the 2nd hand value from those spendings.
    Now that most 2nd hand records are increasing in value because of the vinyl revival, it’s not even that expensive as it seems at first glance.
    Like many DJ records I’ve bought about 10 years ago and sold recently for the same price if not more, simply because I took care of them.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I think physical media enhances the experience for those of us who grew up with it and retain it as a way of life. I don't stream music habitually, I just cancelled Tidal because I didn't use it enough to justify the cost - but I disagree with this common notion that streaming is some kind of "ripoff" because you don't own all the music and some artist might pull some or all of their material at any time. For the next generation of people who will grow up with streaming, they aren't going to miss the physical experience and they will still love music.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

There are much sounder forms of investment. Plus, it's not much of an investment if you never plan to sell it. I don't plan to sell the really good stuff in my collection, so it'll either get inherited or sold or given away when I'm gone. But I very, very much doubt it's going to make anybody wealthy.

Big Blue likes this.
  4. Mike70

Mike70 Forum Resident

Well, technology goes forward not only for digital. You now have really excepcional cartridges under 70 bucks, good phono preamp on 150 bucks, decent turntable under 300 ...