Ringo´s cymbal sound

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Sheik Yerbouti, Apr 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sheik Yerbouti

Sheik Yerbouti Senior Member Thread Starter

... during the Beatles years is unique to my ears. No matter whether (for example) you listen to "In my Life" or "I want you (She´s so heavy)", his ride cymbal sound has never changed and has a high recognition value. I would almost call it an integral part of the Beatles´ overall sound.

2. 905

905 Senior Member

Definitely an integral part of the overall sound. I like his cymbal sound on 'I'll Cry Instead.'

3. BillyBuck

BillyBuck Forum Resident

I'm not an expert on Ringo's setup (I'm sure there are some out there) but I do know that one of the tricks to getting that trademark Merseybeat "wash" was to hang a chain on your ride cymbal and/or use a large, thin cymbal. I have an old, very thin 24" Zildjian that's pretty much useless for anything but that particular sound.

To my ears, Ringo is probably using a pretty thin pair of hi-hats also. It's difficult to find cymbals that thin these days, as the trend has been towards thicker, more rigid cymbals.

4. Tim S

Tim S Senior Member

Oh yeah, that cymbal sound HAS to be there.

I'm not a drummer (far from it) but as a cymbal nut, that ride sounds heavy as hell to me. I know a lot of the sound comes from the way he hits it, very much with a tilted downstroke aiming the middle of the stick (not the tip) at the very edge - this gives it a big "woooosh" sound which decays forever and ever...another case of Ringo doing something most drummers consider "wrong" but for HIM and the band was oh, so RIGHT

5. Maidenpriest

Maidenpriest Setting the controls for the heart of the sun :)

Not the best drummer ever BUT what a drummer, rock solid with a very distinct sound! without Ringo it doesnt sound like The Beatles, for example I think 'It Dont Come Easy' sounds more like The Beatles than 'Back In The USSR'!

6. jwoverho