Tube Rookie, Purchase extra tubes?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by zackwater, Oct 26, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zackwater

zackwater Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Just purchased a McIntosh 2152 tube amp. Do I need to purchase extra tubes for just in case? If I do, am I forced to buy an entire set or just a couple of each size? Uses 8-kt88’s and 4 each 12ax7a and 12at7. Like I said I’m a tube newbie.

2. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

I would not worry about KT88 supplies. But the best 12AX7s are becoming scare and future availability is questionable. Pay the price and buy Mullard 12AX7 long plates. Good high performance RCA 12AT7 are not expensive, so squirrel away the RCA 12AT7.

3. Rick58

Rick58 Forum Resident

I'd just listen and enjoy for a while, like a month or 2. Get used to the sound, see what you enjoy the most about it, and maybe ... what you might wish to improve if anything. If there's nothing that stands out that seems a little lacking (and hopefully there's NOTHING that seems more than a very little tidbit of lacking) ... don't worry about it !!!

After a month or 3 or 12 ... during that time do more research on what the small tubes 'do' in the circuit(s). Like allied333 said, the large tubes (power tubes) are readily available but also are more $$$. They should last more than a year or 3 even if playing a lot. Same for the small tubes, but being less $$$ may be fun to experiment with after a while. Likely all of them will 'last' and perform well for several years before even 'thinking' about needing replaced. But of course 'stuff happens'.