Vinyl so expensive rant

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by cawley1980, Nov 19, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quicksrt

quicksrt Senior Member

Exactly, with the dollar worth 1/3 of what it was 30 years ago, paying $40 for a clean copy of Animals or Queen is Dead is not that as abusive as it looks.

Do you want it, or do you think waiting for another 5 - 10 years will make the prices go down????

Ere, McLover and Aftermath like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

You just have to look for something other than the big titles. I see tons of lps on discogs that are reasonably priced and rated in VG and above. Last Discogs purchase I made was from a seller in Denmark who sold me a NM UK copy of Between The Buttons for something like $25 shipped, most of the cost was the shipping. I've gone out and priced albums by Mountain, Steve Hillage and Patti Smith and found many listings that were affordable and graded highly. If you want Pink Floyd you're going to pay real money, but there's a lot of stuff out there that is still affordable.

3. Classic Car Guy

Classic Car Guy - Touch the Face of God -

I was just kidding. I have a very good turntable but I rarely use it. Maybe 5 times a year.
    I just been using cassettes since the 80's for that's the only thing I can afford at that time. and I never switched besides adding a digital streamer when I feel like listening to it.
    Any music format can be a long road and its a part of the hobby. any of those can be expensive.

4. cawley1980

cawley1980 Member Thread Starter