Ascend Acoustics new speaker - Sierra 2EX

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Grateful Ed, Nov 30, 2019.

1. Grateful Ed

Grateful Ed Forum Resident Thread Starter

What did you not like about the RAAL? I’ve been extremely happy with my Sierra-2s for the last 2 years but have never heard the NrT.

What is the price for a Sierra 2EX NrT?

mike catucci and bruce2 like this.
  2. bruce2

bruce2 Forum Resident

I am no speaker designer, but wouldn't building a Sierra-2 with the NrT tweeter require a lot of work? Wouldn't you have to re-do the entire crossover to deal with pairing the different drivers together? I am a long time Sierra-1 owner and am interested in these as well.

mike catucci likes this.
  3. Grateful Ed

I am willing to bet that Dave would use a custom crossover for that particular build. I’ve spoken with him about putting the 70-20 RAAL in a bookshelf, and he told me a different crossover would need to be used (too expensive in the end to justify, and he said much more improvement would be gained from upgrading the new woofer instead of the tweeter). Just like the upgrade kits for the 1 to the NrT also include a new crossover.

mike catucci and bruce2 like this.
  4. mike catucci

mike catucci Forum Resident

Price for the 2-EX with the NrT is the same as the ribbon EX, per Dave.

My first Ascend speaker was the S1 but with the NrT tweeter. I love my highs and that NrT tweeter does them better than any other tweeter I have heard except the tweeter ATC uses in their SCM lineup. The S2 sounds great and is a great speaker especially for it's price. That said, the ribbon in the S2 was too laid back for my preferences. Yes there was very good depth, but again for me and my tastes I missed the excitement and crispness of the NrT dome.

I think this new EX woofer paired with the NrT dome may end up being a perfect speaker for me.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
    Grateful Ed and Tim S like this.
  5. mike catucci