Turntable Upgrade Advice

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Score17, Nov 22, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Score17

Score17 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello all,

I’m a newbie audiophile looking to upgrade from my current turntable, the AT LP120.

The general top of my budget is $500. I’d appreciate any advice on the best quality upgrade in this range, and of course which TT would sound best with my set up.

Obv, I want a clean table without the unnecessary pre amp and usb my current one has (I’m not daring enough to try the removal mod, btw).

Rega Planar 1 and Project Debut Carbonseem to be top options; I welcomeimpressions on those and any other options.

Thanks in advice!

Greg

Monty12 likes this.
  2. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

3. Score17

Seems like a very good option, particularly with the stock Ortofon Blue stylus. Thank you.

Monty12 likes this.
  4. Cyclone Ranger

Cyclone Ranger New old stock

Used Technics SL1200Mk2 (or later). Should be able to find one in decent condition for $400-500, and it'll significantly outperform any new 'table in that price range (or under $700-1000, really).

$500 new 'tables don't generally sound much better than entry-level 'tables. If that's your hard budget and you're unwilling to go used, then I'd guess I'd spend the money on improvements elsewhere in your system, such as cartridge or speakers, depending on what you have already.

5. knotscott

knotscott Bi-Amp Believer

Here's an interesting YouTube video shootout...the Rega did well. The Fluance was a front runner on my list too.

Given the huge impact of the cartridge, I ended up buying the newer improved version of the AT-LP120XUSB with the upgraded VM95SH nude shibata stylus. The TT has a quieter motor, they fixed the preamp issues, and the nude shibata stylus is a step up from the nude elliptical on the RT85. Very pleased with the sound for the money spent. No regrets.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2020
  6. Score17