Strictly for fans of Audio Note UK (all things Audio Note UK)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Richard Austen, Mar 19, 2015.

1. John Mee

John Mee Forum Resident

I have been working with Nick for several years and NOBODY but Nick touches my stuff, even non-AN. I doubt there is anybody more competent or fair...

Acapella48, Don Parkhurst and Tlay like this.
  2. Richard Austen

Richard Austen Forum Resident Thread Starter

My phono stage started buzzing in the M1 I am reviewing (also in the M3 I had) and the tubes were fine. I already traded in the M3 but the M1 I have solved the issue with a few attempts. I use a few power bars and so I changed what I was plugging the M1 into - on a different wall socket and also the direction of the power bars. The phono noise dropped like 90%. I also but my DAC and Turntable much closer to the M1 Phono - you would think that would be worse not better but for whatever reason it works better.

The problem with internal phono stage is that the best place for them may not be the best place for you preamp. This is why so many preamps are line only and you buy the phono stage and put it somewhere else.

Note: I am in Hong Kong with the three prong UK style plug with 13a fuse built into the power connector. I am using an ISIS modified power bar. Which is just a regular power bar where the dealer replaced the cord with ISIS cable.

It might be worth fiddling around with this to try and get rid of the noise. Put the M5 in a different location and with different connections. I have the DAC and turntable and M1 all on the same power bar going to one wall outlet at the other end of the room and my Empress Silvers on another power bar connected to a different wall socket. I even run a very long cord from my bedroom to the living room to connect the TV and Cable and Google home etc. Trying to keep things somewhat separate. So far it has worked. When the M6 comes in I hope it still works.

roole likes this.
  3. roole