Class D amplification?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Khorn, Dec 3, 2020.

1. Ilusndweller

Ilusndweller S.H.M.F.=>Reely kewl.

I see those speakers (very nice looking btw!) will take 30-750W.

I just swapped out a 750W amp with a 200W amp. Big difference.

Tim 2, Cliff and Khorn like this.
  2. Khorn

Khorn Dynagrunt Obversarian Thread Starter

Class D amplification for me anyway represents one of the greatest advances in audio with massive potential. I can’t remember anything that has excited me so much as to it’s implications. I believe it will mean a lot to many in the future.

SandAndGlass, ChrisR2060 and timind like this.
  3. Veovis

Veovis Forum Resident

I've been using two of Mytek's AMP in bridged mode for a couple of years now and I'm pleased with them. Compared with class A/B amps I've used the AMPs can sound a tad grey in the higher mids and less impressive in the very low bass, but it's a very honest sound that I miss every time I try something else. They don't try to impress the listener, they just sound "right", dynamically and tonally.

The AMP+ has just been released and the selling point seems to be better performance in the areas I just mentioned. 3000 USD per unit is not cheap, but fortunately they offer owners of the AMP to upgrade their units to AMP+ specification for 500 USD per unit (the difference in retail price between the old AMP and new AMP+).

Shawn and Khorn like this.
  4. Mike-48

Mike-48 A shadow of my former self

There's a lot to say in favor of integration. A few points against, as well, having to do with service, upgrading just the weakest link, and so on. But I do believe that using line-level crossovers and DSP is a great way forward.

Regarding the Meadowlark homepage, I seem to be missing a list of dealers and/or a price list. Is any of that there?

Khorn likes this.
  5. Agitater

Agitater Forum Resident

Meadowlark, I believe, sells direct to the public.

Mike-48 and Khorn like this.
  6. Bill Mac