Ethernet Cables in for evaluation

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Puma Cat, May 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brad2021hk

Brad2021hk Forum Resident

I'm not usually the "stay in your lane" type of debater. It might apply here.

Once the signal quality crosses the threshold to good enough that the receiver can recover the data with a sufficiently low bit error rate, it doesn't matter anymore. On your way to getting good enough signal quality, there are analog transmission line principles used. You can't have better than a bit-perfect packet of data. The aesthetics of a "more perfect" waveform will not matter. I've typed this on this message board some other time. Jitter is a real thing. Jitter does reduce timing margin in digital circuits. Once you reduce jitter (and other things that hurt margin) sufficiently that you close timing, it doesn't help to reduce it more. Seriously. I'm a computer engineer. I'm not pointing that out to brag. I'm point that out to make the point that I understand how these things actually work.

Jitter on DAC clock can also cause distortion. That jitter is disconnected from the jitter on a wire transport that brings data into the DAC. Making the input data less jittery does not make the DAC's clock less jittery. The same word. Similar phenomenon. Not actually connected.