Non-Drummers Playing Drums

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by MortSahlFan, Dec 25, 2020.

1. penguinzzz

penguinzzz Forum Resident

His fills on the outros of Narrow Way and Fat Old Sun are quite funny.
    Actually Gilmour programmed a drum track but Mason played it in the end.

Rufus rag, DTK and petercl like this.
  2. MortSahlFan

MortSahlFan Forum Resident Thread Starter

Funny how? :)

3. penguinzzz

penguinzzz Forum Resident

I suppose as a drummer myself (of sorts), it sounds to me like an enthusiastic novice pounding away without any concern for timing, precision, restraint etc. It's funny but not in a bad way.

4. Drumaniac - R

Drumaniac - R Forum Resident

:D

5. pbuzby

pbuzby Senior Member

"Teen Town" (Heavy Weather) has a great drum track from Jaco.

6. octophone

octophone immaterial girl

That was my first thought: IIRC, it's Carlos Alomar on drums, Dennis Davis on bass and George Murray on guitar for the basic track. Eno gets the credit for the idea because it came from an Oblique Strategies card ("Change instrument roles").

7. octophone

Gruff Ryhs played drums on a track or two on Super Furry Animals's "Mwng". I think Dafydd Ieuan had gone home feeling ill and the tight schedule and low budget meant they had to press on without him.

8. octophone

It seems I'm wrong - it was only one track and was a demo that was kept because everyone liked the overall sound and feel of the recording so it was decided not to re-do it.

9. MortSahlFan

I'm a drummer, too. I've heard the song many times, and always focus on the drums because I know it's Gilmour.

I'm listening to it now, his fills seem like he's holding the sticks sooo hard, as the execution is stiff, despite them being decent fills, very reminiscent of Nick Mason.

penguinzzz likes this.
  10. bRETT

bRETT Senior Member