Class D amplification?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Khorn, Dec 3, 2020.

1. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

It'll keep the cat off...
    -Bill

2. Noel Patterson

Noel Patterson Music Junkie

Yep you're exactly right. I'm glad I experimented as I thought the Brio was driving them just fine. No slight against the Brio, just not what it was designed to do. I'll put it on the little system upstairs with some small PSB speakers and let it shine there!

Khorn likes this.
  3. rbbert

rbbert Forum Resident

I have a W4S ST -250 with the upgraded connectors that I have been using for the past 3 yrs driving a pair of Acoustic Zen Crescendos (89 dB, 6 ohms) very nicely indeed. I’m selling the speakers, and so possibly the amp too, but it’s so nice I may just hang on to it as a spare. If anyone wants, though, I’d be willing to part with it for $750 inc shipping

Khorn likes this.
  4. Mike-48

Mike-48 A shadow of my former self

On December 24, I received two Class-D monoblocks with PuriFi modules from Apollon Audio. I'm posting here to give preliminary listening impressions in my main system. (The rest of my gear is in my profile.)

Note: When the amps arrived, I swapped them for my usual amp (a Bryston 4B3) and adjusted gains per spec to match my subs the same way. The goal was to get an immediate impression, with the existing amp in recent memory. However, that was foiled by tonal imbalance, requiring a new gain calibration. I'll post more after I swap the Bryston back in, in a few weeks.

Current impressions:
    • The amps are in the same league as my usual.
    • They are the most transparent and uncolored amps I've heard in my system. Like clear alpine water.
    • As part of the above, they offer tremendous clarity. I'm not good at hearing lyrics in general, but I'm understanding some I never got before. The word "opaque" in a Beatles song, for example.
    • Very natural overall timbre and tonality. No grain or edge.