Pink Floyd ‎– The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn - Stereo vs. Mono?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Skull, Feb 10, 2021.

1. RobNeil

RobNeil Forum Resident

Both. The mono is arguably the 'most psychedelic' of the two.

2. abzach

abzach Forum Resident

I like them both in different ways.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

If you want digital, the 40th anniversary package isn't bad at all. I played it constantly when I bought it back in 2007, and it was a massive upgrade over the crappy 90's mono CD in the green corrugated box.

However, the 94 Doug Sax CD of the stereo mix is probably the best mastering of the stereo mix I've ever heard, and it's probably even a little better than the recently released stereo LP.

The RSD mono LP is the best way to own the mono mix without spending hundreds of dollars on an original UK pressing (even though now it'll probably set you back at least $100). However, if one is primarily interested in CD, I'd say just get the 40th anniversary package for the mono mix and bonus materials, and get the '94 stereo CD and call it done.

sjaca, asdf35, yesstiles and 2 others like this.
  4. WolfSpear

WolfSpear Music Enthusiast

The 1994 remasters do sound good, so I'll vouch for it...

I also had an early Japan for Japan that sounded great too but I lost it or... umm, borrowed it :sigh:

Hamhead and bleachershane like this.
  5. Schoolmaster Bones

Schoolmaster Bones Poe's Lawyer

Amen to that.

dkmonroe likes this.
  6. I like this observation and agree with the choices, though for me I think Interstellar Overdrive is clearly better in stereo because it is a more immersive experience.

Laservampire likes this.
  7. StingRay5

StingRay5 Important Impresario

I thought I was happy with the 1994 EMI remaster of Piper, but now you guys made me order a copy of the 2-CD 40th anniversary edition on eBay to get the mono mix...

bleachershane likes this.
  8. bleachershane

bleachershane Forum Resident