Listenin' to Jazz and Conversation

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Lonson, Sep 1, 2016.

1. Bradd

Bradd Now’s The Time

bjlefebvre likes this.
  2. eeglug

eeglug Senior Member

I am a visual artist (including portraiture among other areas) and more often than I would like I find myself cringing at some of the poor artwork/design that grace some jazz album covers. But I get that many of these releases are done with very low budgets and under difficult circumstances - and in some cases they are possibly verging on grey market releases.

3. Tribute

Tribute Senior Member

Here is a very distracting design. I wonder why no one simply used the photograph as determined by the photographer himself

[​IMG]

4. Tribute

Tribute Senior Member

Simple designs are often the best, and can also be the least expensive. But record companies never seem to employ designers with that notion when using photography.

You can go through hundreds of album covers for Louis Armstrong, who was a very interesting subject for photographers, and hardly find any that are worthwhile

peskypesky likes this.
  5. bjlefebvre

bjlefebvre Forum Resident

Thanks. I actually have the 10" and the RCA LP @Tribute pasted the cover of. I was just thinking I don't have anything that has his rendition of "Jitterbug Waltz," and that set has it. Tidal streams seemingly 20 versions of that song, but none are of Waller playing it.

Now streaming the below. Big band and Sister Rosetta Tharpe? Yes please.

[​IMG]

dennis the menace and chervokas like this.
  6. Tribute

Tribute Senior Member

I loved that shot of Bud so much. Here is a nicely done postcard

[​IMG]

Moments apart, but this print blurred his sweat, or else Bud had just started playing and was still dry.

[​IMG]

It is interesting that the photographer, Herman Leonard, chose to reorient the image in his final print, as signed. He obviously did not want closer cropping.

[​IMG]