Always up for something new: Roon 1.8

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by jmrife, Feb 2, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RGBARGEE

RGBARGEE Forum Resident

Has anyone tried the new version with a Bluesound Node 2i yet? I'm especially interested if you are running the App from an iPad.

Thanks!

2. grx8

grx8 Senior Member

I did. I’m kind of new to Roon, version 1.7 was great, I tried 1.8 yesterday and seems to be...slower.

The thing is, I’m sure it doesn’t sound that good, I think (hear) that the Node2i sounds better using the BluOS app.

3. terzinator

terzinator boots lost in transit

Pi (at least with RoPieee) shouldn't need any updates.

4. elvisizer

elvisizer Forum Resident

yep, RoPieee != DietPi
    still waitin'

5. DyersEve726

DyersEve726 Schmo Diggy

I haven't dug into all the details of the update yet, but the responsiveness is much appreciated. Looks like they're letting the remote app stay alive and connected in the background (the way it always should have been). Really wish they'd do notification bar integration.

gabbleratchet7 likes this.
  6. Encore

Encore Forum Resident

Actually, after having listened some more, I think that sound has improved quite a bit with version 1.8. Bigger soundstage, easier to follow instrumental lines, more distinctive vocals. Maybe also a little better bass.

7. tumpux

tumpux Well-Known Member

No way. Roon Labs would highlight it if they add that feature.

Jaap74 likes this.
  8. elvisizer

elvisizer Forum Resident

No changes in sound with 1.8 here, no reason to expect any from what Roon said about the changes in this update. Could be that some DACS were added as officially supported and behave differently now, settings reset by the update, etc.
    If it sounds significantly different I'd go check the settings and make sure nothing's changed/reset within roon or your endpoint.

9. JorgeGvb

JorgeGvb Senior Member