Audio Note CD player? or SACD player?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by audiorocks, Apr 16, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. audiorocks

audiorocks Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've never heard an Audio Note component but the way I've read their house sound described is exactly what I like. Not looking for a "hi-fi" sound at all. I've been using a computer as my digital source for many years but I'd like to try re-entering the CD player arena and I'm trying to decide between an Audio Note CD player and an SACD player from someone who makes them. I've never heard an SACD which makes this even trickier.

Is there a maker of SACD players that produces the same character of sound as an Audio Note? If so then I could have the Audio Note style of character plus SACD support. I'm not just looking for great sound but this particular character of sound that is so natural. Tubes not necessarily required.

2. Thorensman

Thorensman Forum Resident

I think there is an issue . The AN CD2
    Cd player I use due it's age will use different dac internally to modern SACD
    Players or indeed any cd player.
    So already these players will sound different as a result.
    Personally I think it's a matter of trying
    Different players in your system till you find the right one
    A difficult task.
    The Linn Karik always impressed me.
    Though I Don,t think Linn.make players
    Anymore.

jonwoody likes this.
  3. Ntotrar

Ntotrar Forum Resident

I have two Sony SACD players and both work flawlessly. I don't have a clue as if they sound like Audio Note, I doubt they do. I have on order a Marantz 30n SACD. I don't know how it sounds. But SACD in my experience sounds good regardless if its stereo or multichannel. Perhaps you should buy a used player (what I did) and a few SACD's including a few you are very familiar with before deciding on spending big on the format.

Sterling1 and Nakamichi like this.
  4. Nakamichi