The Kinks - Album by Album (song by song)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mark winstanley, Apr 4, 2021.

1. FJFP

FJFP Host for the 'Mixology' Mix Differences Podcast

The 52 minute Aftermath might have something to say about that! LPs were almost always shorter in the US - it's just the standard to do the 10/11 tracks compared with the UK 12/14, to make and sell more albums out of it. As always, $$$ wins!

2. Lance LaSalle

Lance LaSalle Prince of Swollen Sinus

The Rolling Stones and Dylan had longer albums. But generally speaking, the longer the album, the worse the sound -- probably being super simplistic and I am not an expert!

3. Fortuleo

Fortuleo Used to be a Forum Resident

I'm more comfortable rating the LP as a whole after the song by song discussion. But I can say this : Kinda Kinks has ten Ray Davies originals, whereas Kinks had only five. That in itself already makes it twice as good in my book.

Lab Guy, skisdlimit, Adam9 and 10 others like this.
  4. ARL

ARL Forum Resident

Kinda Kinks - bought it in 1986 along with most of the other Pye albums. My copy is a 1980 reissue on the grey Pye label, but even this would be worth a lot more now than the £2.50 I paid for it back then. It could do with a deep clean though.

I've always liked this album, despite the lukewarm reviews it gets and the fact that much of it was recorded in a hurry. The two covers are the worst tracks on the album, but elsewhere we have Ray's songwriting gradually developing its own character and quirkiness. Dave gets 4 lead vocals out of the 12 songs, which is a decent ratio.

I listened to it a couple of weeks ago, and was struck by how the sound quality dramatically dips between "Dancing In The Street" and "Don't Ever Change" - looking at the recording dates I can see why, as the latter came from an earlier session. It could be said that "Tired Of Waiting" doesn't entirely belong sonically as that also came from a few months earlier, but it's good to have it anyway.