How much jazz was there in these classic rock artists?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Andrew J, Apr 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lownote30

Lownote30 Bass Clef Addict

Now this is a great post! I didn't want to be that guy either, but had to ask the question. I was seeing lots of strange posts in this thread. Yours is perfect. You went first, but I am glad to join you in being "that guy". I have a degree in commercial music with my primary instrument being bass (nice to meet a fellow low-ender). The emphasis was very much on jazz. At the same time, there were ensembles for just about everything, and I participated in as many as I could. I've also been playing gigs for money since the age of 13. I'll be 46 this year.

I appreciate you responding to my post! I solicited, so you're officially "not" that guy. :righton:

Last edited: May 3, 2021
  2. Lownote30

For Cream, you have to add Jack Bruce. The guy could walk the bass like it was nobody's business. He was more of a jazz musician than any other genre.
    For Led Zeppelin, listen to Bonham's drum solos. He actually quotes jazz drummers somewhat often. Max Roach more specifically.
    For The Who, Townshend's guitar chord voicings were quite influenced by jazz during the earlier era of the band.

Last edited: May 3, 2021
    Rose River Bear, bzfgt and jay.dee like this.
  3. Lownote30

Jazz doesn't have to swing to be jazz. Swing is an element of certain jazz, but Latin jazz doesn't swing, and yet it is indeed jazz.

4. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member