Obscure UK/US Pop-Psych Round Table Discussion

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Clarkophile, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clarkophile

Clarkophile Through the Morning, Through the Night Thread Starter

Since there's only about twenty SHtv members who seem to be into this genre, I took it upon myself to create a thread wherein we could discuss favourite songs from this period, alert other fans to new comps (instead of searching the archives, which can at times prove frustrating), and just generally ask/answer questions about the most obscure UK/US pop/psych imaginable. I'm hoping audiodrome, mafru2 and Child of Nature (Chris M. too, the guy who introduced me to Jason Crest!) will stop by regularly to give me a hand, since I'm going to be one of the people asking questions and seeking answers, and you lot are among the most knowledgeable folks I've met with regard to this stuff.

As a drummer, I'm regularly blown away by the crispness of the drumming I hear from this period. There's two songs in particular I'd like to mention today. The first is:
    Life 'n' Soul -- "Peacefully Asleep"
    http://www.manchesterbeat.com/bands/lifensoul/lifensoul.php
    Now, Clem Lee isn't one of those names that regularly comes up during those "Who's the best drummer?" threads we occasionally have here---nor had I heard of him before I researched the band---but his performance in this song is just magical. (Side note: I am sad to report he died in 2004). The military-style snare rolls give the song a cascading feeling, especially during the chorus, which perfectly complements the already-joyous harmony singing. I could do without the gimmicky snare roll in the break after the chorus, but otherwise this is an instance where the drumming just propels the song and constitutes one of the more memorable aspects of it.

Next up is:
    Unit 4 + 2 -- "3:30" http://www.geocities.com/SunsetStrip/villa/9500/unit.htm