“I can’t believe I once thought that...”

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by classicrockguy, Jun 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edfom

edfom Forum Resident

Before typing this out, I am NOT this person anymore.

Growing up in the 80s in a very small town, most of the music I listened to was metal. Bands like Depeche Mode were in my eyes... sigh... music for homosexuals. I won't even type out what it was commonly called by people then. Even completely censored it's offensive and ignorant. By the time I graduated high school my opinion had completely changed. A few years after that Depeche Mode became one of my favorite bands of all time. I still regret I ever thought those things and I know I have grown as a person, but it was such a horrible belief and I can't believe I ever thought that.

2. Jamsterdammer

Jamsterdammer The Great CD in the Sky

There was a time in the late seventies that I was convinced Stevie Nicks was the guy playing the guitar and Lindsey Buckingham was one of the women in Fleetwood Mac....

3. bob_32_116

bob_32_116 Forum Flaneur

I think like most people I assumed that the name "Kurt Vile" was a stage name and a pun on the name of the German composer Kurt Weill. "Kurt Vile" is in fact his real original name.

Jarleboy, Patanoia, 1983 and 12 others like this.
  4. Evethingandnothing

Evethingandnothing Forum Resident

How about Soft Cell, Bronski Beat and Culture Club? I don't think there's a ban on homosexuals liking them yet.

bob60, Blank Frank, rodentdog and 2 others like this.
  5. bob_32_116

bob_32_116 Forum Flaneur

This particular homosexual can't stand Depeche Mode. But then I don't like most metal music either.
    Nor do I like much of the music gay men are supposed to like.

6. andrewskyDE

andrewskyDE Island Owner

No clue why but for a long while I thought Madonna was from the UK...^^

Crimson Witch likes this.
  7. DISKOJOE

DISKOJOE Boredom That You Can Afford!