Advice on my LP120X First Cartridge Alignment

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by MattF_19, Jun 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MattF_19

MattF_19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Cartridge Alignment

I've never aligned the stock cartridge that came with my LP120X, I just found out yesterday that it was not pre-aligned from the factory (Like the Fluance tables). I printed out the alignment protractor for the LP120x and I think the first point looks good, but I'm not sure if the cantilever is a tad bit crooked on the second (inner) point. Take a look at the images (First one is outer point, last two are inner points), and let me know what you think.

I'd appreciate the help! This is my first time aligning! ;)

2. I couldn't find conclusive information on if it was aligned from the factory or not, but when I checked mine with a protractor it was bang on! Double check with a protractor for sure. AT makes a printable one, but you can get one of those generic mirrored ones pretty much anywhere and they're great too.

3. BluTorch

BluTorch Forum Resident

First point looks great. Second is all kitty-wompus. Align inner. Then align outer. Then align inner again. Then align outer again. Eventually you will get to a point when both are in alignment. Be patient. Once you do this one time, you'll understand.

4. Davey

Davey NP: Hania Rani/Dobrawa Czocher ~ Inner Symphonies

You need to go back and forth, adjusting the overhang either forward or backward by moving the cartridge in the headshell forward or backward, and adjusting the offset angle inward or outward, until the cantilever is aligned as closely as you can get at each of the null points. It's an iterative process, it gets easier once you've done it a couple times so that you know which direction to move the cartridge (forward or backward).