I'm on a trip to your town. Which record store should I hit?

Discussion in 'Music, Movie and Hardware Store Guide' started by mr. faded glory, Jul 6, 2021.

1. SJB

SJB Beloved Parasitic Nuisance

My favorite Baltimore-area record store chain (Record and Tape Traders) declined and died a few years back, but from time to time I've visited the Sound Garden in Fells Point and I've never left there empty-handed.

If you're in Rochester, New York, hit up the Record Archive. I spent a lot of time there when I was a student, and they're still around (in a different location).

2. Phil Tate

Phil Tate Miss you Indy x

None here in South Shields, UK. But several great record shops at the other end of the Great North Run in Newcastle.

3. mr. faded glory

mr. faded glory Forum Resident Thread Starter

Man a trip to Switzerland would be a dream come true. Thanks

Durango88 likes this.
  4. GodBlessTinyTim

GodBlessTinyTim Forum Resident

I don't think my town has had a record store since the 80's.

mr. faded glory likes this.
  5. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite

No, it's a good idea for a thread. Matter of fact, I lived in Des Moines for nearly five years. I used to know where the record joints are, but haven't been back for a couple decades (to this date, it's still "the whitest place I ever lived": I mean, "white" like mayonnaise, golf, old car shows and bermuda shorts!).

If you're ever in the Harrisburg area looking for records...for god's sake, keep driving! Philadelphia and Pittsburgh are where you need to be! BUT, and I learned this when I first came here in the last century, there's a record show in Lancaster, 30 miles down the road, ever 2nd Sunday of the month. KEYSTONE RECORD COLLECTORS – BY COLLECTORS, FOR COLLECTORS

In fact, our best record options here, in the CAPITAL CITY of one of the major states...aren't even in town. [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 6, 2021
  6. mr. faded glory