KISS: The Songs 1974-2012

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by GodShifter, Feb 7, 2017.

1. deeluxdx7

deeluxdx7 Forum Resident

I just listened to "Rock n' Roll over" top to bottom. Just to make sure it was they way I remembered....

OH MY GOD! Talk about a GREAT sounding record!!!

Analog "Ear candy" ORGY!

Almost no "distortion" on the guitars.....only analog overdrive through the various preamps, E.Q's, compressors and TAPE!

This record is a "Gain staging" and "Analog/tape/tube/transistor" MASTERPIECE!

WOW!........This record sounds SO GOOD!!!

YardByrd, Curveboy, D.B. and 3 others like this.
  2. antonkk

antonkk Senior Member

For a second I thought I wrote this.

deeluxdx7 likes this.
  3. carlwm

carlwm Forum Resident

KISS has consisted of at least three great singers for most of the band's existence, at least in my opinion,

4. intv7

intv7 Senior Member

I'm a musician as well.

Every musician I know respects Ringo highly.

AngusStanley and phonograph like this.
  5. antonkk

antonkk Senior Member

The main difference between Peter and two Erics is that like him or not he had tons of personality, both as a singer and as a drummer. Instantly recognizable. Eric Carr was great for the first couple of records and after that he frankly became yet another faceless 80's hair metal drummer. Singer is a high class pro, a true sideman who can play anything but there is zero personality in him.

6. deeluxdx7

deeluxdx7 Forum Resident

Great minds think alike.

7. deeluxdx7

deeluxdx7 Forum Resident

Then I don't know what to tell you.

Ringo has been maligned in "muzzo" circles for as long as I can remember.

If that hasn't been your experience, so be it.

But it certainly HAS been mine.

Matthew Tate likes this.
  8. deeluxdx7

deeluxdx7 Forum Resident

Not going to get any complaints from me.

That was one hell of a scene.

The New York Dolls, KISS, The Dictators, Wayne County and the Electric Chairs.