New Line Magnetic 508ia Integrated Amp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by GoldprintAudio, May 20, 2016.

1. Chris Amott

Chris Amott Forum Resident

I am actually out of town and away for the next month so can't try anything, let alone listen to my system :(

2. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

Sorry you have to wait. It'll give us both something to look forward to. :)

3. islander777

islander777 Member

Hi everyone, I’m new to your forum :)
    I bought LM805ia back in March and enjoying it since. Even with stock tubes I love it (It’s my first tube amp, and I’m new to the whole tube rolling thing, so I guess I’m not spoiled yet).
    The tube rolling bug bit me and I think I’m ready to start some experimenting.

I’ve read all 109 pages of this thread and ordered my first set of Tung Sol 6SN7WGTA (whatever I could find, but guess these are well rated?)
    I read from your posts that Mullard ECC35 for 6SL7 is very highly rated, however they are very hard to find and the price is not budget friendly at all.
    Hence my question - is there anything else for 6SL7 that is close to Mullard in sound quality department, but maybe a bit more available?

4. tlowe

tlowe Life Explorer

I dont know what's the experiences for others on the LM805 or LM508, but I found that Brimar CV1985 / Brimar 6SL7GT sounded quite close to Mullard ECC35. They are selling for around USD70-100 compared to USD250-300 on the Mullard. A note though, I found that Brimar has a higher noise level compared to Mullard but not really noticeable at listening level unless you turn the volume to the max. for noise inspection.

5. tlowe

tlowe Life Explorer

Thought I will add this...
    IMO, Mullard ECC35 is really worth it. You get all very well balanced, wide soundstage, clarity, etc...very pleasant to listen to.
    You should at least try to get one used in great condition at a more reasonable price; you wouldn't be disappointed.