Remix or Re-recorded - you decide!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Curveboy, Jul 20, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Curveboy

Curveboy Forum Resident Thread Starter

There has been a bit of back and forth between myself and @deeluxdx7 on the KISS: The Songs thread about whether or not KISS remixed or re-recorded songs for their 1988 greatest hits disc, Smashes Thrashes and Hits.

Let us know what you highly attuned listeners think; is this song remixed or re-recorded?

2. Curveboy

Deuce (1974 original)

3. Curveboy

Deuce (1988 Smashes, Thrashes and Hits version)

4. Joy-of-radio

Joy-of-radio Forum Resident

I think it’s re-recorded for sure! The vocal intonations are very noticeably different to my ears. It’s very noticeable at 2:13 with baby if you’re feeling good, baby if you’re feeling nice! Listen carefully to the words good and nice in each version.

Last edited: Jul 20, 2021
  5. carlwm

carlwm Forum Resident

I'm no expert but they sound like re-mixes to me. No skin off my nose if I'm proved wrong though. Either way, I like the "new" versions well enough.

6. lrpm

lrpm Forum Resident

I think you should be more specific on the thead title, please. It seems your question is on preferences in general, but It turns to be a question on the recording of a specific album

7. Curveboy

I was going for generic...this isn't addressed just to KISS fans but the music experts (at least their ears) on this forum.

Joy-of-radio likes this.
  8. Diamond Star Halo

Diamond Star Halo Forum Resident

Gene’s vocal sounds re-recorded (or an alternate take) but everything else is remixed.

9. SRC

SRC That sums up Squatter for me