Did you ever end up owning speakers so heavy and large that you cannot possibly move them?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by MonkeyMan, Jul 20, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MonkeyMan

MonkeyMan A man who dreams he is a butterfly? Thread Starter

Don't get me wrong, I do love my Tannoys. But, I couldn't move them if my life depended on it. So, experimentation with placement is impossible once the dealer and piano movers finish setting them up. I know, I know... 1st World Problem :wave:

2. Tone?

Tone? Forum Resident

Ha nope.

hit the weights dude.

lol

Bananas&blow, hman and audiomixer like this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Yeah, but they weren't Tannoys. :laugh: My first stereo was a Magnavox console in two pieces with a turntable in one part and record storage in another. It probably was from about 1968 and my mom bought it for me for $30 in 1978, I was 14 at the time. I used the built-in turntable until it died and then hooked up a Realistic turntable to it. It was great because you could actually place the dual units far enough apart to get a good stereo image, unlike most console stereos which were one unit. The speakers were huge and were the envy of all my friends. I had them in a room on the third floor of our house and I played those things LOUD. It sounded like a concert hall. When we moved from Vermont to Georgia in 1982 I had to leave them, too little space on the moving truck and there was no place in the much smaller house we were moving to for them. I just left it there, who knows what happened to it. In actual fact it probably wasn't as good as my memory makes it, but it was better than the Panasonic Thrusters that most of my friends had. :laugh:

powerq, jonwoody, clhboa and 2 others like this.
  4. russk

russk Forum Resident

Honestly I could not imagine owning speakers bigger than my Cornwalls. 100lbs a piece and they take up a lot of space.