Mono record with Stereo cartridge - What to expect?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Sbcrue, Aug 12, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sbcrue

Sbcrue Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I have no experience playing mono records and therefore no experience playing mono records with a stereo cartridge. I'm thinking about buying a mono Ritchie Valens 1st press (1958). I've always wanted that record. I'm a bit of a first press hound....otherwise I'd buy a different version and this wouldn't matter.

I have no desire to start collecting mono records so things like mono carts, amps with mono switches, etc are of no real interest to me. It'd probably be this one mono record. I've lightly browsed some of the archived threads regarding mono & mono with stereo cart but decided to post this anyway.

System as follows: 1200GR, AT540ML>Schiit Mani (upgrade phono pre coming in a few months if you think that matters for this topic)>Schiit Freya +>Schiit Vidar>JBL L82's.

Is it worth the $50+ to buy this record...will it sound halfway decent in your opinion? Yes, all subjective but looking for those opinions and any actual experience would be great.

2. If it is a clean pressing you should be okay. Any surface noise or clicks and pops will be in stereo and so will be more noticeable.

Dr. Winston Ramone and wgb113 like this.
  3. Johncan

Johncan Always learning

You should expect to hear a mono record on your stereo system. It will sound like most other records do in your system.

Dennis Metz and cdash99 like this.
  4. Sbcrue

Thank you! Yeah, pretty clean copy actually. I can probably live with some increase in noise. I look at it as just a fun kinda record to have on while doing stuff around the house sometimes. Maybe not so much critical listening. If I can stomach a NM copy of the first Bob Marley & The Wailers (Soul Rebel) Jamaican pressing I have and listen to sometimes I should be able to "deal" with this. I appreciate the feedback!