New Line Magnetic 508ia Integrated Amp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by GoldprintAudio, May 20, 2016.

1. Ontheone

Ontheone Poorly Understood Member

Perhaps we've identified the weak link. So my VAC appears to use an ALPS RK-27 potentiometer. See photo below. I know the LM805ia uses an ALPS as well but I'm not sure which one....definitely not the same one from the photos I've seen. I didn't feel like opening my LM up to view.

[​IMG]

Chris Amott likes this.
  2. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

What have you tried prior to the ECC35?

The weak link has always been the volume but not the pot itself. Its integration into the circuit is what is the weak link. The pot itself should only be about smoothness, quality, and reliability.

Ontheone likes this.
  3. Ontheone

This makes sense and obviously I'm not an electrical engineer so don't fully understand the design basis and comparisons. I do know that Kevin Hayes at VAC is quite fastidious about integrating volume control correctly as not to degrade the music.

4. Strat-Mangler

I'm unsure if the 805 addressed this as it supposedly has a true preamp out as opposed to the apparently half-assed version on the 508. I'm unclear in that.

5. Chris Amott

Chris Amott Forum Resident

The 805 has the same input/outputs as the 508. There is no pre-amp out on either, and the pre-in seems to operate in the same fashion. i.e. it’s just a volume control bypass with a fixed 10db attenuators built in.

6. AP1

AP1 Forum Resident

There is always an option to replace 6SL7 tube with 6SN7. That will reduce gain by approximately 6dB. To compensate for loss of loop gain, you will also need to use feedback setting of 3 or 4. The positive side is that hiss through speakers will be significantly lower.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
    Chris Amott likes this.
  7. tlowe

tlowe Life Explorer

Damn...sorry, is damn a bad word in this forum?:D