Discogs Security Issue?

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by Otis P, Aug 26, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Otis P

Otis P Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi all.

I've been using Discogs to catalog my music collection for several years...and today an oddity of sorts arose...a fellow user from another country emailed me to ask if I could send him a wav or flac of a particular album that is pretty much unavailable (at least for reasonable prices).

Q: How did he know that I had that album in my collection? I have always been under the assumption that my entries on Discogs were private. I'm pretty iffy/naive with technology use...but I don't see a setting where I may have allowed the entire world to see what I've got. Any advice or input on this would be most helpful.

Q: Would it be unethical in some way to send the requested files via email? Is this any different than selling a used record or cd?

2. lrpm

lrpm Forum Resident

Yes, it is completely different

Crimson Witch, Otis P and Lownote30 like this.
  3. Danby Delight

Danby Delight Forum Resident

Go to Settings and look under Privacy. I think unless you opt out, others can in fact see what's in your collection.

4. pscreed

pscreed Upstanding Member

No, it is completely the same. And I deleted my entire collection from Discogs after being stalked there by whackos. I maintain it now only on my local server.

Their security is terrible.

Otis P, Lownote30 and hi_watt like this.
  5. mwheelerk

mwheelerk Sorry, I can't talk now, I'm listening to music...

Select any one title in your Discogs catalog. Under Statistics on the right hand side it shows "Have" with a number. That number is a live link that shows others who have added it to their collection. Select on of the users name and Send A Message appears.

Go to Profile and select Privacy Settings and choose your preferences of what others can see and do regarding contacting you.