DACs

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by three_paws, Jul 11, 2021.

1. three_paws

three_paws deleted account Thread Starter

Yea, I dunno. I definitely have had similar experiences, so I hear what you're saying. But I've been able to explain them (or at least have tried to explain them) by figuring out what I was doing (comparisons, different tracks, etc) that might have impacted my perception. I mean, there is no way to explain the subjective aspects of it, but that's why I keep harping on scientific evidence (or its absence, to be precise), since that would be objective.

Last edited: Sep 4, 2021
    h1pst3r88 likes this.
  2. h1pst3r88

h1pst3r88 Forum Resident

I just don't think there's any way to get objectivity in this particular slice of our collective interest.

For example, as a 30 year musician I have good ears. However, I have hundreds of hours under headphones -- tracking, performing, and monitoring. It's not at all uncommon for me to spend 4 straight hours under cans working on something on my git.
    I have also 100s of gigs with amps and IEMs just doing the stuff of gigs. Good fun, but do I hear what virgin-eared youth hear?

My current setup of a Line Magnetic SET amp or a Cayin 6L6-based push-pull amp with my Audio-GD r2r DAC and Omega tower speakers (with built in subs) makes absolutely sublime musical reproduction in my 18x14x9.5 room -- to me. My Black Ice DAC makes most of the lusciousness of the Audio-GD, but not quite equal -- to me.

When my 17 and 18yo sons listened to Drake's latest the other day on the aforementioned system, both of them who 100% live under Apple airpods asked if I could setup speakers in their rooms so it "sounded like this".

That gives me faith that I still have ears ;-)

jusbe, Swann36 and UCrazyKid like this.
  3. three_paws