Upgrade path from a Denon AVR-X3600H?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by head_unit, Aug 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member Thread Starter

...which is currently driving Focal 936/CC900/SR900, plus an SVS SB-2000 Pro. Upgrading the speakers, or going to Atmos, or adding another sub...those are different subjects.

The question here is what might give better sound. I don't believe measurements are all however as an engineer I would want an even lower noise floor. AND still have room correction, Audyssey or Dirac or there's another I forget. Source is basically an Oppo UDP-203, and sometimes AirPlay. So far no surround from Netflix etc as there's not a connection from the display.*
    - Are there any pre/pros really better than what is in the -3600?
    - I know you can turn off the L/R internal amp. I know you cannot turn them off individually in pairs. Can you turn them ALL off?
    - Amp, again would want a lower noise floor. Want Class D/G/H due to one circuit, cuz I would think to upgrade for more power just to have more headroom.
    - 5-channel amp might be cool...though if using the 3600 as a preamp a 3-channel really seems sufficient to me. Nominations? Those ATI and Monoprice Monolith I read good things, but back to Class AB efficiency and eh somehow it would be interesting to try something different. And not humongous. Or something by Boulder or such, just to contradict myself.
    - Budget, I dunno. $5k? Not too fixed really.

*hmmm, isn't there an ARC connection? I gotta pull out the cabinet and look again!

2. SamS

SamS Forum Legend

I've had a lot of Denon receivers, used many of them as processors. But I've also had several dedicated processors.

Yes, I think there's room for improvement stepping up to a dedicated processor. Consider a Marantz AV7706 @ $3K? Marantz and Denon are essentially one single line of products, at this point. The leaves $2K for your choice of amps.