Help a Newbie with their Vinyl Setup

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by icecoldfire, Sep 17, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. icecoldfire

icecoldfire Member Thread Starter

Hi awesome people! I'm a newbie, and got Rega Planar 2 vinyl player. I'm now ready to buy an amp and speakers, but can't really choose which ones are good that's not THAT expensive. The man at the store recommended Rega IO, but of course I think he's biased since that's what he sells. I still have my old speakers from our Sony mini hifi component, but I'm not sure it'll do since I don't have the amp yet to test. A budget friendly amp was suggested by a friend too - BRIK, hard to weigh reviews for both since they're not apples to apples. I'm not that techy yet when it comes to these things, but I want great sound quality. I know it comes with a price, but for starters like me, any suggestions (first hand experience) would help. I think I'll only allow myself to get 600-700 USD for both (amp and speakers) for now. Another question in case you're all in the mood to answer, is it better to focus on having a great quality amp? or speakers first? Thanks!

2. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

Unfortunately, $700 isn't much when it comes to a "great" amp and speakers. I'd suggest buying the Io and using your old Sony speakers until you can invest in better ones. Rega makes a quality speaker, also KEF, ELAC, SVS, Hsu, and others. Count on another $700 or so.

KT88 likes this.
  3. bobbradley

bobbradley Well-Known Member