ANK 300B Interstage Monoblocks

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Jaytor, Oct 8, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jaytor

Jaytor DIY Enthusiast Thread Starter

I've become a big DIY enthusiast over the past couple of years, rekindling an interest I had in my college years and early 20s (~40 years ago). At the time, career and family got in the way, and I never got back to it until recently.

In the past two years, I've built a pair of speakers, a pair of subs, three pair of solid state monoblocks (class A, class D and a chip amp based design), a class D stereo amp, and a preamp. And I close to finishing another preamp.

For my next project, I decided to try something with tubes, and the 300B SET amps have always intrigued me. Since I've never done a build with tubes before, I decided to start with a kit. But I can't leave well enough alone, so my build will have a lot of embellishments.

Below is a photo of what the standard build looks like. Mine will look a bit different since I'm designing my own chassis/enclosure. This will give me room to add the extra stuff I'm planning and to move the connectors to the rear (making it easier to connect my stiff interconnects and speaker cables).

If there is interest, I can turn this into a build thread showing progress along the way.

[​IMG]

jusbe, jfeldt, HiFi Guy and 27 others like this.
  2. Mike-48

Mike-48 A shadow of my former self

Jay, I'm interested (and I imagine others will be). I'd love to see your progress & maybe even hear the results when you're finished. Carry on!

WvL likes this.
  3. Davey

Davey NP: Michael A. Muller ~ Mirror Music (2024 LP)

Nice! There was another build thread on the ANK 300B here a few years ago (wow, just checked and it was actually in 2014), but didn't really get into build details and progress pictures, it was a full system build with speaker and preamp too. Be fun to see your progress along the way, whatever you may want to share.

4. Jaytor