Denafrips Dacs

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by bever70, Nov 8, 2019.

1. HescoWendrik

HescoWendrik Active Member

Hi everyone, I'm new here and currently have an Ares II on the way. I currently use a Bluesound Node 2i but plan on upgrading to a separate streamer transport. I compared the Bluesound to my Rega CD player and the Rega sounds so much better to my ears. This is why I ordered the Ares II, I realized I wanted I more easy listening sound even if it is not the most accurate. What streamers do you guys use? I was looking at the SOTM SMS200 neo and the Sonore Ultrarendu. Are these a good match with the Ares II?

bever70 likes this.
  2. Double E

Double E Time is piling up, we struggle and we scrape

My Pontus II arrived today and has exceed my expectations. Purchased without a listen (which I’ve never done before) so it was nervous wait as I loved the sound of my existing analogue digital rig (I mainly listen to & prefer vinyl) and was worried the sound would be to revealing/digital and fatiguing. I went with & trusted review recommendations and the DAC tech of Denafrips.

Loving the sound and I’m currently writing this stuck on my headphones (after playing through speakers all day) playing familiar playlists and it sounds too good to stop!

Seems to have improved through the day and with some setting tweaks in Roon.

Makes me wonder how much marginal difference adding in the Hermes and HDMI connection would bring. Tempting next step!

3. RockAddict

RockAddict Sanity is an illusion, just like democracy

Before ditching the Node 2i, it may be worth waiting to hear how it sounds using the Ares II DAC. Used as a streamer with an external DAC, the Node 2i may well turn out to work rather well. I have a Node 2i, using a Pontus II as the DAC, and have pretty much concluded it would take something at least double the price to match it, let alone beat it. That said, one streamer (transport - i.e. no onboard DAC) oft mentioned on the forums is the-