When does a ‘new’ band member become a ‘real’ band member?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ricky Lampoon, Oct 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oatsdad

Oatsdad Oat, Biscuits, Abbie & Mitzi: Best Dogs Ever

To make your point ever greater: Wood has been in the Stones longer than Wyman, Jones and Taylor combined!

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Any album cover that features the band includes Ronnie, starting with Black and Blue. The single exception I can think of is Tattoo You which features Mick one side and Keith the other.

Last edited: Oct 10, 2021
  3. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

I think it depends on the agreements within the band. If you look at Rock Hall inductees this is certainly the case. Take for example Nine Inch Nail. There have only been 2 actual members and Atticus Ross is a fairly new addition. But 5 other touring member where inducted along with Ross and Reznor. But Reznor has always thought of NiN as more a recording project and there is a touring band.

4. steveharris

steveharris Senior Member

Never for me unless I grew up with the replacement Like Dave Gilmore before I got into Piper.I can’t help thinking somebody is still the new guy even if he’s in the band twice as long as the original member Jason Newsted was in Metallica longer than Cliff but Trujillo was in even longer than both?Strange and doesn’t make sense but that’s how I look at it.

5. Ricky Lampoon

Ricky Lampoon Forum Resident Thread Starter

I obviously need to pay attention more. The latest Stones album that I own is Exile on Main Street.

The Stones are a strange band regarding ‘official’ band members - they don’t even seem to have found a bass player since Bill left.

Ronnie is an ‘official’ band member (I guess) because of his amiable personality and his ability to keep up with Keef’s drug habits, back in the day….

mark winstanley likes this.
  6. Say It Right