Is This Mold on This Record?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Pavol Stromcek, Oct 12, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pavol Stromcek

Pavol Stromcek Senior Member Thread Starter

Just received this "VG+" record in the mail from a Discogs seller. It's funny, I have loads of records, and I've been buying records since the early 1980s, but I don't believe I've ever seen anything quite like this.

Are these splotches mold? The record and sleeve/jacket have a strong musty/mildew-y smell, which is partly why I'm wondering.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

(Please let me know if these photos aren't showing up for you.)

I realize there have been a few of these "Is This Mold?" threads, but I felt funny hijacking someone else's thread.

2. ultron9

ultron9 The quest for perspicuity and grace continues...

I'd return that lol immediately...very nasty stuff and calling this VG+ is an insult and delusional in the part of the seller. You don't want that in your collection if you can help it.

LitHum05, Ere, Tommyboy and 12 others like this.
  3. Carl Swanson

Carl Swanson Senior Member

Actually, it kinda looks like dust on oily fingermarks.

4. rockclassics

rockclassics Senior Member

Looks like oily fingerprints to me. IMO mold on vinyl is usually smaller dot like spots.

bever70 likes this.
  5. bluesky

bluesky Senior Member

Looks bad.

I wouldn't run my stylus through it.

WvL, Pavol Stromcek, AL01 and 2 others like this.
  6. Ripblade

Ripblade Forum Resident

It does look like fingerprints, but I don't see the characteristic striations of fingerprints. Instead, I see lines radiating outward, which to me looks like mold, maybe growing on the organic residue of the prints.

Should be washable though. Record looks not too bad otherwise, what I can see of it.

Big Blue, bru87tr, Drifter and 2 others like this.
  7. F1nut

F1nut Forum Resident

Mold

Pavol Stromcek likes this.
  8. aunitedlemon

aunitedlemon Unity is in the pith.