Dynavecto Te Kaitora Rua vs XX-2 from an old timer

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Richard Milam, Apr 25, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Richard Milam

Richard Milam Well-Known Member Thread Starter

The old timer thing kind of hurt. I'm a dealer. I've been doing this for 35 years. I now am semi retired. I do only two channel (God, I hated the days when it was half theater and automation and I held out more than most) and I don't need to make a living. Extra income is nice, I won't lie, but I don't need it. I keep doing this insane stuff because first of all I love music, secondly I love the gear that helps me connect to it. Lastly, I love helping people find what they need.

I am a Dynavector dealer. I won't sell to you unless you're nearby. Not the point. I've sold the 10X, 20X, XX2, and XV1-s. Also been a dealer for Lyra (great stuff) Linn, Rega, Benz, Koetsu, etc. This is about the Te... you know what I mean. It's loosely based on an XX MKII. Specs are similar, etc. The physical difference as I understand them, and I'm more worried about sound, is that the basic body of the Te is titanium and there is a different yoke. There are a few comparisons out there about how the Te is just a hot rodded version of the XX-2 and the differences are relatively minot (intentional music theory joke). I don't find that to be the case. The table I'm using for comparison is the Rega Planar 10. A great table at a fairly reasonable price. If you need a turntable for you ego look elsewhere... It does require a shim but just one so the rigidity and coupling design element of the Rega is minimally impacted. So, how does it sound?