How to respond nicely to someone who says Pet Sounds is the most over-rated album in the world?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Brian Lux, Nov 24, 2021.

1. Evethingandnothing

Evethingandnothing Forum Resident

I'm not sure why the word objective should enter a conversation about ratings.

2. 7solqs4iago

7solqs4iago Forum Resident

It requires you to know the story, the background, kind of a manifesto to really appreciate it.

As time goes on, more and more music fans come along who couldn't give a tinker's dam about the manifesto.

Like when i go to a postmodern art exhibit and i'm expected to read something to "get it"... my patience is limited... :(

The work will have to stand on its own. Since i know the story and feel sorry for the guy, I really can't judge this great album for stand-alone-ability.

Big Blue likes this.
  3. Like most people I'm not a film professional or a motion picture historian. I watch movies for enjoyment. Citizen Kane was a non-enjoyable snooze fest for me. "It was boring" trumps any advancement in film technique for most movie watchers and that seems proper and sensible.

On the other hand Pet Sounds is an advancement in pop music production that is not at all boring. It's just not as exciting as some other Beach Boys albums to me.

Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  4. B. Scarpia

B. Scarpia WatchingYouWatchingMe

I read through this thread yesterday and got out the year old re-master, judging by it being in the original inner, I never bothered to clean. I never owned any Beach Boys before, the group being merely a Car Radio thing in the past, but acquired it after viewing Love And Mercy and apparently gave it little attention.

That was a mistake. Pet Sounds really does live up to the hype for the way Brian Wilson orchestrates the diversity of sounds and wonderfully carries off taking the music of his mind to tracks on record.