Pink Floyd ‎– The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn - Stereo vs. Mono?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Skull, Feb 10, 2021.

1. sharedon

sharedon Forum Zonophone

Must have both, but the stereo is my go-to. I have two ears, albeit aging ones, and the stereo mix is as vivid and wild today as it was in its time.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Yes, but I don't think that you do. For one thing, mono mixes ruled the psychedelic era, stereo was a novelty and most people didn't bother with it. Stereo was more a 70's head music thing. For another, that panning gimmick is, as I said, just jarring and unmusical. It literally brings to mind a teenage kid sitting in his room with headphones on, blissed out on his music, and his kid brother comes in and whips the balance knob back and forth, causing teenage kid to panic and spill bongwater in his lap. :laugh: Furthermore, I'm not aware of any other mix of the psychedelic era where the engineer just panned everything left to right like that, so the gimmick doesn't really define anything.

But anyway, to be clear, I'm not saying it's the worst thing ever or that it ruins the stereo mix, but I surely cannot agree that it's a defining moment of psychedelia and that if one doesn't like it, one somehow doesn't understand psychedelia. That's investing it with far more importance than it has.

Man at C&A likes this.
  3. tug_of_war

tug_of_war Unable to tolerate bass solos

The mono mix has much more psychedelia...

4. spieg16

spieg16 Forum Resident

5. ggoldenage

ggoldenage Forum Resident

Stereo mix is completely unlistenable. Like many stereo mixes from that era, you forget your listening to a rock band. Mono has way more punch, is incredibly balanced, and does away with all ridiculous gimmicks.

6. ILoveLucille

ILoveLucille The infernal desire machines of Dr Steve Hoffman

7. LitHum05

LitHum05 El Disco es Cultura