Considering replacing Wharfedale Lintons

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by iNeedItGreasy, Jan 7, 2022.

Tags:
  1. iNeedItGreasy

iNeedItGreasy Active Member Thread Starter

Hi all,

Longtime lurker, first time poster here. I have owned my Linton's for roughly two years now. They are my first ever "audiophile" quality speaker. I am relatively new to the hobby, but the Linton's opened a door into the HiFi world that I will most likely never be able to close.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the Linton's and am continually impressed at how they can bring the music I love to life. I have them setup to the best of my ability in my room (a large 20x32 open concept living space with 9 foot ceilings)... Imaging is solid, soundstage is large and detailed, and music has heft & dynamic punch with out being loose in the bottom end. I am a lifelong musician and I never realized music could sound this good.

That said, I have started to ask the question that many are familiar with in our hobby: "Is there better sound out there that I am missing out on? Could it possibly get better than this?" I don't live in a remote area by any means, but the closest HiFi dealer is over 2 hours from me - so this has made auditioning gear for my self difficult.

What would be a logical upgrade from the Linton's? And what results could I see from taking the plunge? My main goal would be for the new speakers to retain the positive aspects of the Linton's, but to add increased detail, clarity, and holographic imaging. As a side note: if I decide to purchase new speakers, I won't be getting rid of my Linton's - they will just be moving upstairs to the master bedroom.