Bi-Amping with Active Crossovers - Pros and Cons

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Soundgarden, Jan 9, 2022.

1. Soundgarden

Soundgarden Forum Resident Thread Starter

A sub-conversation popped up on a different thread about active bi-amping. Instead of trying to continue it there, I figured I'd pursue a separate conversation. I'll premise this by stating that I've never bi-amped before and I'm not an an engineer. I'm trying to understand the key ingredients for success at a fairly general level.

The sort of setup I'm interested in is where an active crossover is placed between a pre-amp and two power amps - one power amp to drive the lows, the other to drive the mids/highs. Of course the speakers need to be bi-ampable.

What are the pros of active bi-amping compared to passive bi-amping? From what I can tell, in active bi-amping each amp is required to accomplish a more limited, less energy-intensive task. More specifically each amp receives, amplifies, and delivers only a portion of the frequency range. This completely separates the low frequency signal from the mid/high frequency signal, avoiding potential interference between the two and increasing headroom. In passive bi-amping, each amp still receives, amplifies, and attempts to deliver the entire frequency range... with the passive crossover in the speakers having to bleed off a bunch of wasted energy as heat.

What are the cons? Near as I can tell, this has to do with ensuring that the active crossover is tuned to the right frequency, with the right roll-off rates, and can ensure that the gains are matched. If those things aren't correct, one may have accomplished the pros, but replaced a crossover that's tuned to the speaker with one that isn't. (Let's assume that the quality of the active crossover is also very high and we're not talking about dropping a new component of questionable quality into the signal path.)

Is this about right?

Randoms likes this.
  2. TheVinylAddict