Nakamichi Dragon- Wow!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Raylinds, Feb 16, 2020.

1. clhboa

clhboa Forum Resident

Thought I would give an update. I sent it back to Willy. He was very concerned that I was unhappy. After going over it he said it was all in spec and there was nothing wrong. After getting it back I figured I would cut my losses and sell it. Figured I would give it one last chance before selling. Very happy this time around! Sounds great!!! I've been using it regularly for a few months now. It's a keeper.

I told Willy that I was now happy. Not sure what the difference was (Willy didn't either) but it sounds way better to me now.

ssmith3046 likes this.
  2. rpd

rpd Senior Member

Not surprised. He’s the best

3. Classic Car Guy

Classic Car Guy - Touch the Face of God -

I never had an RX-202. I was imagining its a very good sounding deck too especially done by an expert like Willy. I have several nakamichi deck even a BX-1 already sounded so nice especially after completely serviced and properly aligned. I love the sound of the tapes recorded on BX-300 but when it comes to playback, I just use a 2-head.

timind likes this.
  4. clhboa

clhboa Forum Resident

I changed over the cables I was using with the RX-202. Made all the difference in the world. Sounds terrific now. It is currently back at Willy Herman's for work on an unrelated issue that it developed.

Classic Car Guy likes this.
  5. KLM

KLM Senior Member

This thread inspired me to take a look at the Nak I have downstairs but haven’t used in about 15 years. It’s the RX 505, three heads, lots of level adjustments and the great auto reverse function that stops the cassette, pushes it out and then flips it around and returns it back into place. Made a lot of tapes and loved using it in college. Might have to break out some of the tapes to see if it plays. It’s in excellent cosmetic condition and I’m not sure if I want to keep or sell it.

6. TarnishedEars

TarnishedEars Forum Resident