The Kinks - Album by Album (song by song)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mark winstanley, Apr 4, 2021.

1. Wondergirl

Wondergirl Forum Resident

:laugh::laugh:
    Sounds like I'm stuck then! :help::love:

DISKOJOE, Brian x and mark winstanley like this.
  2. ajsmith

ajsmith Senior Member

Dave actually talks about ‘Islands’ a little in his (soon to be) first autobiography from 1996, 22 years before it was released. He says:

‘There was one track from those sessions, called ‘Islands’ that I really liked, but for one reason or another it never got finished. It was a song about friendships - how people go their seperate ways in order to find something new and sometimes become isolated. Islands.’

so there you have it from the man himself regarding the songs meaning.

3. Zeki

Zeki Forum Resident

Now someone needs to ask how the government gets involved!

4. Wondergirl

So kind of like "I'm on an Island"?

5. Paul Mazz

Paul Mazz Senior Member

Islands: This is my first time hearing this song. When the song started, my first reaction, in the beginning of the song, was that it was not a song I’d want to listen to again. When it got to what I guess is the bridge, I was thinking that Dave might have been able to turn it into a decent little pop song. Ditch the first minute and a half or so, up to where he sings “Free as the river flows,” and redo the opening verse and chorus music. Easy for me to say :D I’m not a songwriter.

6. pyrrhicvictory

pyrrhicvictory Forum Resident

Islands