What and when was your first turntable.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by hyntsonsvmse, Apr 27, 2022.

1. ssmith3046

ssmith3046 Forum Resident

AR-XA, brand new in 1973 with the new Shure V-15 III. The turntable is long gone but I still love the Shure V-15 III cartridge. I had owned record players with detachable speakers before that but the AR was my first "real" turntable.

2. The Pinhead

The Pinhead KING OF BOOM AND SIZZLE IN HELL

Sansui P50 :

[​IMG]

My dad had promised me a used car if I graduated from high school. He told me he was kinda broke, and offered something cheaper instead, so I immediately said '' an audio system'' ! so I for sprung for an amp, speakers, cassette deck and TT, and my dad remember my granny had given me a boombox, so he said I'd have to settle for amp and speakers, which I ''could connect my boombox to'', which of course sounded horrible, so a friend got me this TT from a musician friend of his, in great condition for some u$ 50 (1980). Sounded wonderful ! I bought some bargain bin records to get started : The Kinks-Low Budget (ironic, innit ?) Rush-Permanent Waves.Ted Nugent-Weekend Warriors.

3. ca1ore

ca1ore Forum Resident

Technics (no clue of model #) bought in 1974 from Sam Goody.

timind likes this.
  4. Schoolmaster Bones

Schoolmaster Bones Poe's Lawyer

The finest turntable ever crafted, circa 1971

[​IMG]
    Garrard 40B

5. Big Blue

Big Blue Forum Resident

That was mine? Some Fisher-Price suitcase thing, in the ‘90s.

In the house, in the ‘80s, we had an all-in-one stereo thing, but I could not possibly identify the brand.

timind likes this.
  6. action pact

action pact Music Omnivore

In the '60s, our family had an enormous RCA Victor color TV/stereo hifi console. I also recall there being in the family a '60s GE stereo suitcase portable with a fold-down record changer and detachable speakers, probably something that my older brothers were given.