Higher End (priced) Audio, Who’s Buying It?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Khorn, May 4, 2022.

1. Khorn

Khorn Dynagrunt Obversarian Thread Starter

I’m told there’s quite a lot of high end product being sold up here during this COVID time and I’m wondering just who is buying all of it. The products are rarely discussed on this forum so I wonder if some here are doing so but are hesitant to discuss it. Where is it all going?

The FRiNgE, jfeldt and Tim 2 like this.
  2. jonwoody

jonwoody Tragically Unhip

timind, OC Zed, AaronW and 6 others like this.
  3. motorstereo

motorstereo Forum Resident

I'm not sure who is buying it but I do know who is not:)

4. ggergm

ggergm another spring another baseball season

The ultra high end market is a funny one. In the late 1970s, I worked in a store that catered to that crowd. My joke was a quarter of my customers had a perfect ear. The other three quarters had a perfect ego. I have found that more money conscious audiophiles are often better listeners.

So many buyers of ultra high end gear equate the dollars spent with performance. That often is not true but I wouldn't recommend you say that to someone making a million dollars a year. Those guys may read this forum, and while some do contribute, most of them know that they want. It's flashy, exclusive gear, and certainly more expensive than the electronics any of their friends own.

Last edited: May 4, 2022
  5. Khorn

We should be able to discuss the attributes of really good equipment even if we can’t afford it now and maybe never. It’s interesting and maybe gives us an idea of what can be accomplished in the SOTA.

I love to see and hear about really great equipment. I don’t discount these components as “rip-offs” simply because I’m unable to afford them.

6. Agitater

Agitater Forum Resident

Any examples at different price points? I'm not sure that most SHF members consider or agree on high price points the same way as you (or me).

7. Agitater