4k Discs -12/26/2020 Are they worth investing in?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by jojopuppyfish, Dec 26, 2020.

1. Spitfire

Spitfire Senior Member

Just watched 2001 the other day. Impressive

EVOLVIST likes this.
  2. JimW

JimW In the Process of Becoming

I have no experience, but from what I've read, my understanding is no loss in quality. If done right, it's a digital copy of what's on the disc. Like making a .wav file from a cd, not like an mpg; no compression.

EVOLVIST likes this.
  3. SpudOz

SpudOz Forum Resident

Is it a real life movie or animated title? Some animated titles aren't that large when - I've seen one as low as 35GB. Assuming it is a straight rip of the movie file on the disc and no additional compression has been applied after the rip was done, then the quality should be identical to what is on the disc.

Also, if the rip is only of the movie and base soundtrack then some data will be saved by not including additional (non-English) soundtracks. The smallest file that I have for a live action movie after doing a quick random look at my files is 40GB for a B&W title from the 1960's.

EVOLVIST and jamesc like this.
  4. dwm67

dwm67 Forum Resident

I just watched the new Kino Lorber 4k release of ‘In the Heat of the Night’ … absolutely stunning picture quality … they also include the other 2 movies in the trilogy on the special features blu ray … will be watching them this weekend.

Uglyversal, jamesc and EVOLVIST like this.
  5. hyntsonsvmse

hyntsonsvmse Nick Beal

I have found that quality has dropped in the last few months of classic films.
    There's a few I've bought that I regret buying as I'd already got the blurays.
    12 monkeys is a marvelous film but it's another lacklustre release. It's not worth the upgrade of you've got the bluray.
    Yes it's a difficult film to remaster but arrow haven't put much effort in to the 4k bluray.
    Disappointing and another to avoid if you've got the bluray already.