Vinyl cleaning

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Floor T, Jun 22, 2022.

1. Floor T

Floor T New Member Thread Starter

Hi people I am Florens and I am pretty new to vinyl. I have a question and I just wanted to know what are your thoughts.

I use a antistatic record cleaning spray in some of my records. After applying the spray I let it dry for a few hours before playing. After cleaning the record still has some pops and crackles. Do I need to rinse the record with distilled water after cleaning? Will this make a difference?

Cheers!

2. hoytis

hoytis PDX Cratedigger

Yeah, if you're not wiping the record in any way you're not cleaning it. Yes, distilled water is good. Then wipe with a soft, absorbant cloth. But think about investing in something that really gets in there and cleans the grooves. There are lots of options. I use the old-school fully manual Spin-Clean. Cheap and effective.

3. lazydawg58

lazydawg58 Know enough to know how much I don't know

4. Floor T

Thanks. But what is the best way to rinse it off? Do I just put water on the record, wipe it around with the soft cloth and let it dry? Or is there a better way to do it?

5. drmoss_ca

drmoss_ca Vinyl Cleaning Fiend

A distilled water rinse is exactly that. You might do better to use a purpose-made brush, like a Disc Doctor, than a cloth. However, you should know you are not cleaning the record in any significant way by spraying it with that solution. A Spin-Clean is the minimum requirement. You can go a lot further than that and spend a lot of money, but there are great rewards. I'd rather play a well-cleaned record on a poor system than a dirty record on a great system. It's that important!

6. nosliw

nosliw Delivering parcels throughout Teyvat! Meow~!

The spray and wipe method of cleaning records do absolutely jack-all as you're merely moving around dust and dirt in the grooves instead. Been there, done that myself.