Vinyl record information for a newb

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by ClawHammer, Jun 23, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ClawHammer

ClawHammer Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I'm new to the world of vinyl records since my wife and I were given a load of old ones by a couple of family members. They're mainly from 70's and 80's and things like Abba, Beatles, Dire Straits, Fleetwood Mac, etc. We've also found a few more in second hand shops. I plan to have them all wet cleaned at the local hi-fi dealership before playing them.

So I'm wondering about the value of old records in particular are they ever worth big money to the point that I should consider not playing them and adding them onto insurance as a named item? My research suggests so far suggests that old records don't sell for ridiculous amounts which bodes well from both the perspective of being able to play all my records without fear of devaluing something rare and also being able to purchase more old records for a reasonable price.

That brings me to my next question. I'd like to buy original pressed records rather than new ones but I'm struggling to understand how to identify them. It seems to me that it's not really a case of finding original pressings but finding ones that have been pressed by certain companies, in certain countries and by certain people?

I was trying to find an original UK copy of Fleetwood Mac - Rumours but unable to know for sure that's what I'm buying. Is there a sure fire way to do this?
    TIA,
    CH

2. NettleBed

NettleBed Forum Transient

Discogs - Dashboard

You will need a bright source of light - and a magnifying glass doesn't hurt, either.

3. nosliw

nosliw Delivering parcels throughout Teyvat! Meow~!