The Kinks - Album by Album (song by song)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mark winstanley, Apr 4, 2021.

1. Zeki

Zeki Forum Resident

‘Sold Me Out’ section of the film: The punks boom box music, at full volume, sets The Traveler thinking about how he’s “sold out” and implies he’s acted in some sort of shifty way above and beyond a simple real estate transaction. The Traveler checks to see if anyone has noticed his clients entering the building and then is offered jewelry (which certainly must be a “little something extra”, beyond his commission). He’s all smiles after the transaction but it must be weighing on his mind per his thoughts triggered by the song.

The punk with the shaved head triggers a thought of seeing a guy with his daughter kicking open the door (of the house he just sold? I’m not sure as I couldn’t catch what the sign said on the door).

This is an interesting segment with his imagination running rampant.

(Having grown up in Japan I’m an expert (self styled! :D ) on trains. Starting to roll without the doors closed…unbelievable. Fired! (Now, that same fired employee would make a terrific bus driver (in Japan) as that’s the kind of personnel the bus companies love. I watched one elderly couple attempt to board with the husband managing to step midway through the doorway. The door slid shut hitting him, opening and then slamming on him again before he managed to escape inside. The door closed leaving his wife on the street, hand reaching for the railing. And the bus took off. The first stop was a hundred yards away and I watched the elderly man get off and begin to trudge back towards his wife.

Typical Tokyo area bus bs. Well, maybe an extreme example but the bus companies only hire bastards. That’s true!)

2. Michael Streett

Michael Streett Senior Member

Sold Me Out versions