Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab has been cutting vinyl from digital since a long, long time ago...

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Ben Adams, Jul 14, 2022.

1. DaleClark

DaleClark Forum Resident

I’m not certain if that’s really an issue since vinyl has noise and turntables are not universally set up among buyers to begin with. The DSD64 would probably represent closest to the original file in a general sense. If one “ prefers” a formats particular sound is another issue.

2. myles

myles Argyle, before you ask ....

Nailed it.

BKphoto, Bug80 and MonkeyTennis like this.
  3. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

:laughup:

Classic and so true.

MonkeyTennis likes this.
  4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Nah, he's still got a job, because they're using digital more than ever!

myles likes this.
  5. Sex Lies And Master Tapes

Sex Lies And Master Tapes Gaulois réfractaire

I don't think they'll change anything. They'll keep going with their DSD-mastering routine. IMO the wording means that they haven't received the original masters from Warner yet and that they don't want to take the risk of giving inaccurate informations before.
    Once bitten, twice shy...

DaveyF likes this.
  6. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

It's a possibility. We really don't know. Just keep in mind that mastering studios like KG, BG, Sterling, etc. are all independent and do work for third parties. They cut way more stuff in general than a place like MOFI would.

7. Strat-Mangler

And none of this has anything to do with the thread.

Read, understand, then post something relevant. Those are all steps you have yet to perform (well).

8. crzcrz

crzcrz Well-Known Member